Raven Heights Radio – Podcasting Adventures

ravenheightsradio2

Sooooo…

Next month I am meeting with epically cool Program Director for Raven Heights Radio, Erica Winter.  She also happens to be the on-air personality and we will be chatting about Red August, fairy tales and feminism.  There is plenty to say about the writing process or the story itself, so who knows what paths we may find ourselves winding down?

This past year has been all about me stretching outside of my comfort zone.  I probably come across as total extrovert to a lot of people, but I am actually a pretty equal mix of extrovert and introvert, which in my case manifests in terrible fright of public speaking.  Since Erica is so great, I think Raven Heights is going to be a great way to kick off public speaking about my book.

I sometimes wonder if I should even talk about being nervous – since it shows a lack of confidence.  But I’ve never been much for masks and games – I try to be authentic.  I’ve found it more rewarding to connect with people by admitting when I’m nervous or feeling vulnerable.  It serves as both as a way to measure my growth and to let others who feel the same way know they are not alone.

I’m mostly excited to be doing new things and learning how to be comfortable talking about my work in a public way.  I’ve always blogged about it, but blogging is writing and it seems like it has an added layer of protection from the public somehow.  Maybe somebody can articulate why doing a podcast with somebody is different than writing in my blog about it.

Anyway – I will let you know when the podcast is complete or you can watch for it and listen to other podcasts at Raven Heights Radio.

You can also follow Raven Heights on their Facebook page:  https://www.facebook.com/RavenHeightsRadio?fref=ts

 

 

Leave a Reply

