Firefly Flames – Sensual Sunday

I’m sorry I missed a few Sundays.  I was out of town visiting my daughter and when I got back, catching up was a bit overwhelming.

Today’s SS is brought to you by the magical firefly.  I saw my first fireflies of the season two nights ago while out walking.  So, I wanted to be sure to include them in a coming Sensual Sunday.  The below is a fictionalized story inspired by a real event.

Sensual Sunday is meant to be writing practice.  I’m looking to hone my ability to write about sensual things or even to write sensually about regular things.  I don’t go back and edit them.  Or, at least I try not to.  The point is to try and get a good first draft down. And to resist my urge to edit into oblivion.  I’m also working on staying in tense.  So I do a rough draft and look back to see how often I stray.  This way I can see if I’m improving.  Sometimes when I’m absorbed in the story, it’s easy to wander.

****

fireflies

Even in the middle of a huge grassy yard surrounded by trees, the July day had been blazing and sticky.  The smell of beer, damp skin and barbeque smoke clung to everybody.  But when the sun began to dip below the treeline and the bugs began to sing, the heat let up and I noticed you again.  Standing by a chain-link fence beyond the giant oak people had been sheltering under for shade.  A beer in one hand, the other leaning into the fence, your hip a little oddly out, almost feminine.  Not body language I was used to seeing on a man, but I liked that somehow.

I approached from your open side, only about two feet away from you I leaned onto the fence and looked out over the tall grasses and wildflowers.  Without looking at you I said, “I’ve had fun talking to you today.”  I could see you smile out of the corner of my eye.

“I’ve enjoyed talking with you, as well.”  You turned towards me and took a step my direction.  I wondered why your sexy young (rude) girlfriend wasn’t at the party, too.

I turned towards you and could feel the gravity and spark flowing between us.  “Look, we’ve had some amazing conversations today and I think you’re a really great guy.  In fact, I would love to go somewhere with air-conditioning and iced coffee and talk to you for hours, but I have to be honest with you, I don’t like your girlfriend.”

“Oh?”

“Yes, I’m sorry.  It’s just, you’re so nice and before I start to get even friendly with you, I didn’t want to seem fake or anything.  Like, I can’t be around her and smile and pretend like I like her if I run into the two of you together.  It’s a small town and that kind of thing happens.”  Your brow knitted and you took a casual sip of your beer.  I could feel myself getting more nervous.  I mean, were you flirting with me?  Seriously?  That’s not cool, even if I don’t like your girlfriend.  But I want to flirt back. But what kind of guy goes to parties and flirts with strange girls when he has a gorgeous girlfriend at home, even if she is a self-centered brat?

I could feel myself wind up, the nervous talking was going to keep pouring out of me.  I told myself to shut up now.  Shut up.  “I mean, I know we only met today and I know you’re not from in this town and all, but we do have some of the same friends and we could end up at a party together, again…like before.  And well, if we did and I would say hi to you and I guess I could smile at her, I mean, if we were good friends I could do that for you, I just don’t, well I’m sorry.  I understand if you’d rather not be friends.  It would just be too complicated.  I’m just being honest.  I think it’s important to be authentic.”  I mean, what is a nice guy doing with that girl anyway?  It’s fine if I just talk friendly, right?

You let out a laugh.  It gave me a chill up my spine.  Your voice was deep and had a resonance that danced across my skin.

That shut me up.  Ouch.  Laughing.  I felt a hot flash of embarrassment rush over my entire body.  “I’m sorry.  I talk too much when I’m nervous.”

“You’re nervous?”  You sipped your beer again.  You and your damn casual body language.  So relaxed.  Confident and cool.

I nodded, not daring to open my mouth for fear of what might tumble out.

You stepped in a bit closer.  We were almost touching.  You emptied your beer and turned the cup upside down on a fencepost.  We were now facing each other and you put your hands on my shoulders and looked down at me.  I thought my knees would buckle.  I was undeniably attracted to this man on every level.  Even though my face was hot and I wanted to look away, I was transfixed.

Finally you said, “We broke up.”

I managed to croak out an, “Oh.”  I leaned forward, we both did.  Our lips barely touching we breathed each other in.  Then gently we both pressed forward and parted lips and kissed, warm and sweaty and salt and beer, the flavors of the day and the smell of spice and warm emanated from him.  We pressed hard into each other, everything behind us, the music, the lights, the splashing and talking, suddenly sounded far away.   I felt the kisses in my toes and my low back, my neck and my belly.  It reached every part of me and eventually, we finally came up for air.  When we did, we noticed the field beyond the fence, with a black backdrop of silhouetted trees was alive and sparkling with fireflies.  You put your arm around me and we stood there, watching them and whispering about how magical fireflies are and imagining stories about what they might have inspired throughout history.  We stood there a long while, whispering, breathing, laughing and holding each other. Eventually, legs tired and bug-bitten we climbed into my truck and headed to the all-night diner and talked straight through until the breakfast rush.

One thought on “Firefly Flames – Sensual Sunday

  1. Pingback: A Place for Healing and Connecting | H.L. Brooks

Leave a Reply

