Still Growing and Learning

Body Politics

I wanted to share a post I put on Tammy Vitale’s Facebook page.  I want people to know what a big influence she’s been in my life.

*****

I wanted to say “thank you” for being such an inspiration to me, and for being a mentor in my years as an artist. Also, you’ve been an important guiding force as a feminist. Even when I have not agreed with you and you were adamant about something, you helped to develop a sense of confidence that I could stand my ground with my own beliefs, regardless of who criticized me over them. That sense of confidence and feminist sensibility was the foundation for forming my voice as an artist. It helped me understand how I wanted to be perceived, and what to do when I wasn’t perceived as I’d hoped, and most importantly not to let criticism silence me. Now that…

View original post 287 more words

Leave a Reply

