Raven Heights Radio – Red August Podcast Episode

It’s up!  It’s up!  Erica posted episode 48 of Raven Heights Radio podcast and I am the guest – talking about my book, Red August.

It was a nice thing to see pop up in my feed because frankly, Will and I have been working our asses off.  Glued to our seats, editing, editing, editing.  And then there is the spending money – on marketing materials, on webservers and domain names and advertising.  So to have this lovely chat with Erica posted was kind of rewarding.  It’s the little things.

We discuss Red August and some of the aspects of the story, such as the main character’s interests and what the story is about – kind of! – without giving too much away.  We also get off on a Star Wars and George Lucas tangent, so be prepared for that bit.  Erica does manage to get us back on track, tho.

http://ravenheightsradio.podbean.com/e/048-hl-brooks-presents-red-august-1437074649/

ravenheightsradio2

One aspect that is discussed is the erotic and sexual element of the book.  At the time this was recorded, several weeks ago, I was still classifying it under the genre of Erotic Romance – but further research lead me to Sexy Romance and Fantasy Romance.  There are many different ideas about how to place a book in a genre, but some of them are a bit fuzzy.  Ultimately my book has too much non-sexual story to be considered erotica, even if it has some very sexy bits in it.  It was helpful for me to discuss that and as of just a couple of days ago I’ve officially switched to Sexy Fantasy Romance.  There is the possibility that some people will have suggestions for other genre classifications, but for now that’s what I’m sticking too.

One funny thing is that when I was reading up on the genre classifications, I was concerned about it being classified as erotica because I didn’t want to disappoint erotica fans by not delivering what they have come to expect.  It turns out that some people really don’t enjoy erotica and they will avoid anything within the genre.  So, I would have been hurting myself two different ways.  A sharp tweeter helped give me some insight about the differences, as well.  Jorie also has a review website if you’re interested:  http://jorielovesbookishblogs.com/

Thanks for stopping by and please go give the podcast a listen!  ❤

One comment

Leave a Reply

