Meet Cute IRL

Strawberries dipped in dark chocolate on a pale blue plate.

Someday I’ll talk about my meet cute with my husband, but today I want to share about my Thursday last week when two friends and I meet early to have snacks and then head over to Turn the Page Bookstore, the little bookstore that Nora Roberts owns in Boonsboro, Maryland. They have an event called Girl’s Night Out every now and then, or the town does–I’m not sure how it originated, but the surrounding businesses stay open later, too. I will post about the event in another blog post because this post is about the hours before the trip to Boonsboro, when my author bestie Cardyn (aka BlerdyBingeReader) and her book-loving bestie Deb came over to mine for a little “pre-gaming.”

On offer was wine, chocolate-dipped strawberries and a very basic cheese platter with some pepperoni, crackers, colby-jack, and grapes! I wanted the snacks to be light since we had a little over an hour in the car ahead of us. You know.

While we were munching I learned that Deb met her husband Rick while she was working at a bookstore! What!? So I was all, “Hey, tell us that meet cute!” And Cardyn and I leaned in and listened in “romance author” while she told us about how they met. The short version is that Deb worked in one store, and ultimately she got transferred to the store he was later managing so they could be together! Isn’t that the cutest? Their actual meeting for the first time wasn’t the definition of a meet cute, but they sure have that HEA going for them. Now which one of us do you think is going to be the first to borrow Deb’s bookstore love story for inspiration, Cardyn or me?

Two women at a table with a lace tablecloth, smiling and listening to a story by a third woman who's back is towards the camera.

Leave a comment